18
Oct
10

[Komidol] Ore no Imouto 3 [Orange Farm Archive]

“The right to pursue happiness.”  A fading part of the American constitution and a non-existent part of Japan’s.

Hater’s gonna hate.

When I dabbled into the Ore no Imouto manga I didn’t think the story would develop so far (much less in such a short amount of time).  The character designs are tailored very well for the setting and conflicts that must be taken by both Kirino and her brother, and I couldn’t be enjoying it more.  I’ve been trying to find a good way to explain the anime-dillemma to people right off the bat in day-to-day life or perhaps even in a professional atmosphere – and in the couple times I tried it never turned out well.

Exploring the societal consequences of liking anime (or really, anything in harmless-obscurity) is the theme of Ore no Imouto.  It’s also fairly easy to watch and since the target audience is within the culture it is easy to feel at home or what not.  Infact, Kyousuke brings up an excellent point in this episode that might of been lost in the moment.  I don’t know how many sad-lifers are out there, but how many of you have actually met up with people you’ve met online or in some other way?  Isn”t it actually very easy to get along with those people who share a common interest as you – even if they don’t share the same methodology or opinions?  I always thought it was weird (having been to several) how easy it is to get along with people or have fun.  It’s almost disturbing how easy things go for the first few minutes.  Awkwardly easy – you don’t have to go through all the bullshit you do when you meet someone in person the first time.

“Yeah! It was amazing!”

I have no problem with either of their parents.  I have to say, I honestly think these are some of the most chill parents ever.  Let me rephrase – one of the most chill Asian parents ever.  I’m personally not of that ethnicity, but I have heard stories of Japanese, Korean, and Asian parents.  From what I understand this is actually the best possible scenario (unless you consider Kuroneko’s or glasses girl’s parents are totally chill).

Like I said in an earlier post, I think the staff, authors, and writers of our generation are finally breaking into the anime field.  The steretypical-60’s-70’s generation parents seem to have this moral duty to society.  This entire scene just felt too real, even it was made comedic in the end.

Props to Kyousuke being a bro and manning up.   I almost feel bad for their dad for not understanding; but at the same time I’d rather have this than some parent who just lets their kid do whatever.  Kids these days don’t have nearly enough self-discipline.  My parents let me do whatever…and look how I turned out. :|

Even treated to some Na-Ga artwork at the very end of the episode.  This is probably one of the best episode 3’s of all time.

I need to catch up and play a good VN…

I’ll leave you on one other thought…Kirino is actually rather young – only at age 13 and is *somehow* a full-blown otaku indulging in eroge and the like.  I actually rather worry for the generation just slightly below my own and younger (those in their teens right now, even a couple years was the difference between 1ghz computers in 5th-6th grade and p4’s in 5th-6th grade).  Recently I had the unfortunate experience of seeing an aged, well-informed otaku pretty much end their obsession, pack up most of their stuff (probably most of which they’ll sell), and quest to normality.  While some might see that as “phase” in on itself I rarely see people around that age return to being an otaku and slowly phase themselves out.  Are more and more otaku going “that’s something I just did when I was younger”-route and not bringing the societal-abused otakuhood attribute into their 20’s or even farther?  In my opinion there actually are some pretty well non-weaboo otakus around ages 16-17 out there and a lot of them just give it up because they think “they have to” along with high school or what not.  Or even worse, some of these people will be very very critical about what people like and create hostility in the anime community (people being critical of liking moe, etc…) and say things like they are “killing the anime industry” even though they haven’t been around to see it (though for those who have…that’s a whole ‘nother discussion I already went over in my K-ON!! ending post).  If we’re already at this point inside of the anime community, is liking anime even something so obscure anymore?  Or if the malice isn’t within the anime community – worse it’s even more detrimental from people formerly in it.  I think the worse critics of anime are the people who were formerly otaku and than say things like “You need to grow up.”

It really pains my heart to think Kirino in seven years wouldn’t like anime and just think of it as something she did as a kid.  Trust me, it takes some real dedication to your hobbies to keep them going into your 20s, and something like the otaku community which can be a huge hassle?  Even harder.  A lot of otaku get bored 4-5 years on the scene, also.

Anyone else got the same idea?  I understand better than anyone else a point has to come where you have to be professional to live and work in society, but I think the creators or Ore no Imouto also feel that constant disapproval from all members of society in this era.  Any age 25+ otaku’s out there care to share their opinion?  Or are you all post-evangelion biters saying that anime isn’t what it used to be?  I’d like to think all otaku’s who live in obscurity kind’ve gain the “any hobby you like is okay as long as it’s not hurting anyone” ideal, but it’s actually rarely true.  I’d go as far as to say it’s completely opposite because of the people being so critical inside of the community.  And then we have the external aspects  – Some otaku’s I know won’t even hang up an anime poster or wallscroll in their own shame of what other people might think.  Really, you guys?  I don’t understand it.  Anyone care to enlighten me as to their trials and tribulation in liking anime and dealing with those around them?

11 Responses to “[Komidol] Ore no Imouto 3 [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. October 18, 2010 at 11:42 AM

    I don’t think it’s so much having to “grow up” and “act professional” in society. What kills a lot of childhood hobbies, I think, is being thrown into the “professional” world and suddenly not having any time to do what you like. Eventually, and perhaps against your will, hobbies do become things that you “did as a kid”.

    Also, I think being an anime otaku is somewhat more acceptable in America than it is in Japan. Just the impression I was getting when I was over there. Don’t get me wrong – every guy, any age reads manga, but actually being a full-blown obsessive case is *extremely* looked down upon. Then we can link this into the social problem of hikikomori(shut-in: though it’s an english word now! look it up) in Japan. They don’t do any more outside than go to the convenience store to pick up food and are generally considered the dregs of society. It’s unfortunate that many hikikomori are also otaku, but that fact certainly isn’t helping the anime nerd at all.

    Just my two cents. I could probably go into more detail, but this is all without research or anything, so…

  2. 2 Kioku from Negotiations
    October 18, 2010 at 12:01 PM

    None really in my work envionment. I ask a few vague questions to try and figure out if they have any interest in the subject, and if they don’t, I don’t persue the subject any further. Other than a random highlight of a ‘show I watched earlier’ ^.^

  3. 3 komidol
    October 18, 2010 at 2:11 PM

    Yeah Kioku I normally go for the same thing.

  4. October 18, 2010 at 3:34 PM

    Depends on how you define otaku.

    Part of the issue is bolted to diminishing resources. A mortgate, a car payment, an ELECTRICITY BILL. These things take precious resources away from a collecting hobby. In a big way. In addition, real-life is time demanding in a brutal way, and you have to prioritize.

    Sure, I barely collect figures, hardly go do conventions, and consume relatively little anime as a percentage of my budget. But I review anime and help curate the anime-planet character database, and I’m watching 12 airing series. And I just turned 28. What does that make me?

    I think I got significantly less worried about the future of otaku back in 2009, when I noticed the Director of Operations for Sakura-con had dressed his daughters as Liz and Patti Thompson (the older one was in high school but the younger one couldn’t have been more than 11). I suddenly realized that every week this family, father, mother, and daughters sat down in front of the TV to watch the latest fan-sub of Soul Eater TOGETHER. Sounds like a wonderful future to me.

  5. 5 desufag
    October 18, 2010 at 9:16 PM

    ^FUCKING THIS

  6. 6 komidol
    October 19, 2010 at 1:12 AM

    Figures Patches is an old bro.

    I agree with you guys that sure there’s a big factor of “I don’t have the time to do that anymore”, but a lot of people prematurely say that. In any hobby you can make time. I think there’s few situations where you can’t take out an hour of your week to watch a couple shows every season or what people are talking about it. Your job only (on average) owns about 40 hours of your week, and assuming you sleep just as long there’s still 88 hours in your week. Even if you are a student and part time worker that still leaves 68 hours. Sure, in the first world we stretch and skew that time between other hobbies, socializing, cooking, eating, hygiene, errands, family, transportation but at the end of the day I have to say there’s still a significant amount of hours left.

    I think it’s just a cop out to cut out the one or two hours out of your week from anime because some societal-hypnotized people think “I do not have time for this.” or “It’s not something I should spend my time on.”

    Maybe young adults these days should focus more on properly managing their time so they can do what they want rather than pre-emptively believing their not allowed to have fun. An Kirino is CERTAINLY someone who manages her time effectively enough to do everything she wants.

  7. 7 Magraal
    October 19, 2010 at 6:11 AM

    I’d have to say that a big factor in what you like and how you deal with showing ‘normal’ people the shows you like to watch is eminently determined by what was around when you were growing up. I grew up in the era when Astro Boy was a popular after-school programme, so most people my age have seen a great deal of it and understand the basic premise- you can do more with animation on a cheaper budget. Also around the same time a great deal of sentai/mecha animes were being dubbed and released into video stores around the country- Getter Robo, Yamato, Grendizer, Macross, GoLion/Dairugger and so on. While you may or may not recognise these titles I’d bet a lot of money a lot of ‘normal’ Australians my age would recognise most of their dubbed counterparts- Starvengers, Starblazers, Orion Quest, Robotech and Voltron respectively. As such I don’t have a hard time explaining or talking about a number of the shows I like, eg. Super Robot Taisen. Trying to explain to someone why I watch a show like Chobits however is another matter entirely and so it generally goes unmentioned, despite being one of my favourite animes. It doesn’t change the fact though that people do know that I watch anime and occasionally will approach me asking for recommendations for what to watch- I’ve introduced a number of friends to the likes of GitS, Evangelion and even Utawarerumono. In the end it’s not about how society stereotypes your hobbies, but how you introduce the subject and to who. Know someone that loves Twilight? (*shudder*) Get them to watch Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust and see what happens…

  8. 8 darkslime
    October 19, 2010 at 11:00 AM

    Being American, my first anime experience was Dragon Ball Z, and I used to watch it all the time. That led to my interest in Rurouni Kenshin, also a fighting-kinda story, which led to my interest in Japanese culture, etc. etc. So I can see where you’re coming from, Magraal.

    And I understand what Komidol’s saying, too. Maybe part of it is not having enough time, but it could well be that society does try and force you out childhood hobbies. Or something.

    Also, I recognize all those series names AND the dubbed version names. Does this make me a mecha otaku yet :< lol Dairugger should be in SRW, it would be a great SP pool

  9. 9 komidol
    October 19, 2010 at 3:57 PM

    Magraal, doing it on a person-by-person basis can wind up fairly successful but I was talking more the general societal reaction to it. Of course, the media, big corporations, and politicians reach more people before you do – and if they say that it’s “bad” or promotes “a bad influence” or some story about some otaku going crazy and killing someone or another, that’s hard to deal with. (Which is sort’ve what happened in Oreimo 3)

    But even in personal experiences it can be difficult as well. Sure you showed your co-worked utawarerumono, but how do you explain that it came from an eroge or the general visual novel scene when they ask more about it? Do you pretend the topic doesn’t exist, give a watered-down explanation? I mean, the chances are your friend is a real bro and you could just give the stuff to him without worrying, but this doesn’t always happen.

  10. October 21, 2010 at 3:17 PM

    …There’s a good reason why I took a self-imposed break after 4+ years of blogging, not calling myself as “otaku”, and almost lost interest in otaku culture altogether.

    1. The decline of great shows I’d love to watch.

    Okay, so it’s mostly mecha. But still, there’s a pervasive lack of shows with a good storyline and there’s also an extreme lack (as I percieve) of even basic storytelling techniques being used in anime today.

    2. The decline of the anime blogging community.

    The main reason why I took a self-imposed break. I’m sick of hearing people complain about how terrible anime is becoming (I know that, and I know why it happened, so kindly shut the fuck up). That, and I am sick of the drama happening every few months (Animeblogger Saimoe nonsense, Owen S and his fucking stupid shenanigans, and that enclave of hipster faggotry known as #animeblogger @ IRCHighway). The last straw was probably someone saying I was a hater for a show I have never even watched and I have had a good impression of on Twitter.

    3. Waning interest.

    Related to 1 and 2. But I’m still here. Thankfully, I have other hobbies to keep me occupied. Hobbies that include interacting with people who love anime.

    And I don’t call myself an “otaku” because I don’t think of myself as one. I’m already Singaporean. That gives me enough flak on the Internet as it is in some circles.

  11. 11 komidol
    October 23, 2010 at 9:14 PM

    I empathize with your situation, drm. It’s true that one’s interests in the anime community can either be amplified or deterred by their experiences with the community. Would more hardcore otaku like Naruto, Bleach, One Piece if it wasn’t so popular, had bad english releases, and the general fan community wasn’t overall young? Or even a step farther – if it wasn’t just there to make money as part of a business?

    The general social and industrial atmosphere has a lot to do with an anime, and that’s what I always seek to look at in my posts.


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,463 Oranges Picked

