28
Aug
10

Top Witch [Orange Farm Archive]

So, in an interesting turn of events.  First I tried to watch Strike Witches and realized I’d been trolled with Naruto.  While I laughed twenty four minutes later (I watched it, would have watched it anyway), and while  I dled different subs, I watched the old classic “Top Gun”.  Finally I got to Strike Witches.  And Holy shit, so worth it.  Here goes.

First off, I noticed several parallels between the two.  In Top Gun, Maverick, your hot shot, better-than-anyone-else pilot goes through dogfighting training, aka TOP GUN, though he loses his wingman in the process.  He gets a new Grumman F-14A Tomcat, and a new wingman, and whoops ass in a dogfight.

This scene had me screaming TOP GUN.

In this episode of Strike Witches, we have Miyafuji, your hot shot, more-powerful-than-anyone-else witch, who is going through what looks to me like Dogfighting training, aka TOP GUN, though she loses her ability to fly.   She gets a new Striker Unit and whoops ass in a Neuroi fight.

Hey, look.  It’s Fat Man.

Holy Shit, where are my aviator glasses?   No Seriously.  I’m all ready rocking out to the Top Gun theme of Kenny Loggins “Danger Zone”.  I’m pretty sure that’s what I just watched, in anime form.  During that last flying scene,  I muted Strike Witches and just fired up Kenny Loggins.  That’s how AWESOME this last episode was.  And, in something that never happens, I started singing.  RIIIIGHT INTOOOOOO THE DAAAANGER ZOOOOOOOOOOOOOONE.

SHE’S BREAKING THE SOUND BARRIER.  JET WITCHES.

And, last but not least.  While I’m on the topic, I feel a strange urge to rewatch the predecessor of Strike Witches.  Yes, I’m talking about Sky Girls.  And I want an Ace Combat Zero/5 anime.  NOW.

And none of you will ever be this hardcore or awesome.

Sure is Top Gun in here.

0 Responses to “Top Witch [Orange Farm Archive]”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,923 Oranges Picked

