10
Aug
10

Fanservice and Guns. What more do I need? [Orange Farm Archive]

To be completely honest, I don’t know which I like more, the fanservice or the guns.  This episode was full of both, so no complaints here.

To start things off, there are several bath scenes in this episode, like the one pictured above.  Second, it is implied that the girls are also slightly intoxicated.  Even better.  Because we all know that the only thing better than a naked girl is… a drunk naked girl.

But, once again, I think Hirano stole the show.  A little bit of back history on his character as well.  Trained by an ex-armyman?  What a badass.

I fucking love Hirano.  What a fellow /k/ommando…

Hirano nerds out over the arsenal that was stored in a locker.  And quite an arsenal it is.  Hell, I’ll take that SR-25.  That’s a damn good gun.

Where can I sign up for this guy?

Meanwhile, back at the bridge, a scene goes about between the police and members of a public demonstration goes awry.  Looks like more will be explained next episode.

In any case, I got my scene between my two second favorite characters in the end, so HUZZAH!  I also got sensei hanging on Komuro, and I also warmly received a very attractive Busajima Naked Apron.

WOOHOO!

5 Responses to “Fanservice and Guns. What more do I need? [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. August 10, 2010 at 4:47 PM

    Not really liking a dosage of fanservice in my survival horror…

    I just want consistency. One episode is derphurp dumb fanservice, the next is awesome survival horror (which is why I’m watching it). I could honestly have a better opinion of the show if I just skipped all the perverted scenes as they’re not particularly funny and break the flow of the series. They put such a strong focus on it that it kinda ruins what I look for in an anime.

    If I wanted female oogling I’d watch another show that is kinda dedicated to that and has it built into the style (Strike witches). I’m just nagging on the poor direction of the show. I thought it was a lot better when they just did upskirts and stuff during the action scenes rather than just directing the camera on the nurses huge tits. I would like the style to blend, not inconsistently jump from one thing to the next.

    I understand there is sexual tension between the characters. I understand the male and female lead have a bad history, and I didn’t particularly mind the scene where they were all over each other. In unnatural/sudden conflict those sort of relationships/tensions do grow and happen. But that doesn’t mean you need to spend 10 minutes dedicated to feeling each other up or wearing nothing but aprons to cook dinner. It seems like they go out of their way to add these scenes that don’t need to be there. You can’t be satisfied with Rei’s ass and tits in a high-tension scene with the main character? Or (was her name takagi?) the pink haired girls upskirts when trying to make a difficult movement/reload or at a weird camera angle? It’s fine to have the nurse draped over a steering wheel with her huge sweaty tits in melancholy about her situation with the crazy fucker on the bus.

    So in all of this you STILL have to go out of your way to fucking have the samurai girl dress in an apron panties and cook dinner and have the characters moan and make all sorts of crazy screams/noises while in the bathtub in the middle of the zombie war?

    It’s inconsistent. I’m veteran enough of an anime fan to care enough about myself and what I spend my time watching (there’s a lot of shit out there). It’s useless stuff on the screen that could be better intertwined in other ways into the series…

    Oh, I wrote alot, maybe I should of made a full post about this?

  2. 2 Savage
    August 10, 2010 at 6:56 PM

    ^
    ^^^
    ^^^^^
    ^^^^^^^
    ^^^^^^^^^
    |||
    |||
    |||
    |||
    >He didn’t read the manga.
    Quit complaining cry-baby.

  3. August 10, 2010 at 9:07 PM

    I really don’t need to read the manga to have an opinion about the anime I’m watching. And if you didn’t notice, this is my blog, so it’s really my and my co-author’s opinions, complaints, feedback, cheers, and review of the series. If you don’t find value in my comments, don’t come to my blog; simple as that.

  4. 4 desufag
    August 10, 2010 at 9:41 PM

    The manga, last I checked, WAS drawn by a hentai artist, so by that logic, having no fanservice would feel out of place. Secondly, I normally cannot stand survival-horror, so the fanservice is a nice addition that, believe it or not, makes the series enjoyable in genre I would normally set aside as unwatchable. I myself am a veteran (400+series under my belt), so I feel comfortable saying I’m familiar with my likes and dislikes. The only other horror-type show I enjoyed was Gyo, and that’s a manga. If we want to push it, Elfen Lied, but I wouldn’t consider it “horror”. “Psychological” and “thriller”, yes, but not “horror”, due to the fanservice and the general plot progression.

    In general, I like shows that I do not have to take seriously. HSOTD definitely fits the bill, so I like it for that reason. I watch to enjoy, and this meets my enjoyment standards, but given that my standards are very broad, a lot of other shows also meet those same standards, for different reasons. Here, I will have to disagree with Komidol, and say I think that the fanservice does not detract from the series, but nor does it add to it. Merely, I think it the coordination between the author (Daisuke Satō) and the illustrator (Shoji Satō) to make a series outside of the horror niche to attract more readership. And I can definitely say it is working.

    Keep my fanservice coming. :)

  5. August 11, 2010 at 4:19 AM

    It’s fine if it’s just something that meets your entertainment standards, but I think it could be better. I guess you could say that about nearly any show.

    Which is why I’m waiting for Strike Witches to come out already.

    But that aside it just feels like the focus of the show is split. The styles don’t seem blended very well and the poor direction of the adaptation isn’t something that can be written off because of the artist’s history as a hentai artist or the source material. It’s very broken up…I was enjoying it a lot but this week was just bleh for me. To each their own I suppose…I can’t throw away a couple solid episodes because one episode and a few minutes of each just felt out of place (not in good faith in animation watching, anyway), but I will remember it more for the “It could of been better with more focus” over the “Quality example of Zombie thriller.” You make a good point about the genre’s, though, I suppose I mistermed there.

    But overall I just don’t feel it. Everytime they break for huge floppy tits and girly scenes it’s like I know I’m watching an anime and the momentum is lost. It’s an execution problem, in my opinion, even if it is canon, that’s just a flaw with the content I can’t throw support behind.


Leave a Reply

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,903 Oranges Picked

