28
Jul
10

Last Bloom of Spring 2k10 [Orange Farm Archive]

My final comments on the season, sorry for the long delay~

The application of “internet time” never ceases to amaze me.  Though it’s barely been three weeks, Angel Beats and Working! seem months long past.  I’ve only just “fixed” my internal clock from a multi-time zone trip (it’s always spaghetti anyway) and just caught up on the last 2-3 weeks of anime and haven’t heard a word about either series in well over a week.  Like Utawarerumono (which had an interesting OVA this season), it seems like the series just fell of the face of the earth as soon as the anime ended.  Ah well, I guess that’s just the heart of otaku obsession.

Speaking of heart…

Let’s talk about the conclusion to Angel Beats! I honestly, unlike most people, liked it.  Sure the graduation ceremony scene was a bit boring but it really built up the conclusion of the series.  The final plot twist regarding Kaede’s relation to Otonashi was very welcomed, but the series left a bad taste in my mouth.  Why you ask?

Well fortunately I write on this blog to announce exactly what I think :D

They broke some of the rules.  I had a list of rules in my mind to never reveal.  The first and foremost was to never ever show what happens after the people disappear.  This little 10 second sequence at the end of the anime where Otonashi catches up to Tenshi completely ruined the entire series for me.  Imagine what it would of been like if it had just ended with Otonashi crying about losing Kanade – and that was the whole series.

(Sorry for the lack of episode 13 captions, had some computer errors recently)

Imagine in the end he doesn’t disappear, but he is still left there, with everyone else gone, meeting more and more people while he cannot find a way to escape the world.  Eventually he builds up a bitter hate for everyone who comes to disappear, and becomes an opposition to keep them there just so he wouldn’t be lonely for all of eternity.  Can you imagine him in a cloak, a tired look in his eyes all the time in the opening to season two?  That’s the best possible setup ever.  But no, Maeda just didn’t have the heart to really draw out a full action story based on bitterness and hate.  I mean I suppose this is all still possible, but we know eventually Otonashi will get out and meet Kanade, so the impact of a season two wouldn’t be as strong.

I’m only feeling a mediocre score for Angel Beats, here.

Well, I’ll just look out for the OVA in December.  I know shows like Arakawa under the Bridge, B Gata H Kei, and Heroman were favorites for some this past spring but honestly I found no show more entertaining than Working! I usually skip over the harems/comedies in every season because for me they’ve become a bit stale and I can get my laughs anywhere (especially with K-ON!! still airing).  Though my favorite uprising anime studio surprised me again!  A-1 Pictures delivered Working! with excellent character development, outstanding directing, and stable comedy.

My only real gripe with working is that I think it could of done better with 24 episodes.  I certainly haven’t had enough of it, and as I previously mentioned anime budgets are getting cut shorter and shorter these days.  At the very least, it leaves room for a season two, which I will be looking out for in the coming months (along with Sora no Oto).

Best series climax ever.

In the end, Spring bloomed itself like most anime seasons.  The wildcard anime (Working!) became the best anime to me because it was new and refreshing, the best expected best anime (Angel Beats!) didn’t live up to it’s potential, and the continuing/sequel series (K-ON!!) wound up being more welcomed than I originally intended.

Still into it.

Atleast we get to hold onto K-ON!! for another season…something I hear a few people are hating about recently.

5 Responses to “Last Bloom of Spring 2k10 [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. 1 desufag
    July 28, 2010 at 8:32 AM

    Nice to have you back and blogging

  2. July 28, 2010 at 9:30 AM

    I haven’t been commenting a lot lately because I’m sitting out the summer (not for lack of interest, but mostly because I had too many other things to watch/do). BUT, this I can weigh in on…

    Spring was alright for me, but I think Working!! and K-On!! were what I found most pleasant. There is something about anime with modest goals that really appeals to me and both of these shows do excellently with limiting their scope in a beneficial way.

  3. July 28, 2010 at 12:42 PM

    lol, Yamada in Working was so great.

  4. 4 Sithobi1
    July 29, 2010 at 3:57 AM

    My opinion on Angel Beats was that, much like the little snippet of Yui and Hinata, it can be seen either as a dream sequence that fulfills the person’s need for closure, allowing him or her to disappear, or as reality.

  5. 5 komidol
    July 30, 2010 at 5:49 PM

    Thanks for the comments…I’ll be doing a crash course post on the recent OVA’s this season then somehow find time to get back to weekly blogging, thanks for your patience everyone!


Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,593 Oranges Picked

