26
Jun
10

Working: Inami Route? [Orange Farm Archive]

But don’t you understand that being cute is stronger than any punch?

Are we really going along with this?  I think it’s admirable that A-1 is taking a direction from the female aspect of falling in love.  That is, the man is initially not the one falling in love, but rather Inami is beginning to fall in love with him and try to gain his focus and attention.  Because of this and the dynamic attitude Takanashi has I won’t say this the wrong direction for the plot, but I really like the rest of the female cast over Inami, who has stayed fairly static throughout the series with only minor developments required to push the story along.  Both Taneshima and Yamada are clearly superior.  At the Orange Farm, we support loyal homeless girls living in our attic.

If I ran the show, this would definitely be a permanent change.

I feel like this entire concept with Inami might be better with  a full 24 episodes.  Is it just me or are a lot less shows getting a full 24 episodes these days?  Three-four years ago it seems like 50+ and 14- episodes kinda took a backseat to the 24-26 episode standard, but lately it feels like the standard is only 13 episodes.  Is this because businessmen see longer anime as a risk (I know I dropped Railgun at episode 17 or so) compared to the likelihood that someone will finish a 13 episode series?  Maybe so, but considering merchandise is where the majority of anime-related sales come from, I think it might be a bad idea to keep limiting your series to around 13 episodes – you can’t really get a solid feeling of spending a long time with the characters just seeing them once a week for 2-3 months.  I think this will come back and bite the industry in the end.

How could we make this better?

I think the best example of a solid 24-episode series that would of sucked and totally be forgotten with a mere 13 episodes is Utawarerumono.  Maybe even Shuffle would suffer a similar fate.  I hope we see some season two’s of things like Working or Sora no Oto, though ultimately they both would be better with a straight 24-episode run.  I definitely have a sour taste in my mouth that this series is ending soon, I feel like the character relations have just solidfied and I’ve gotten comfortable with the setting – and now the show is soon over.  Bleh.

Despite the aforementioned, I believe Working! actually wound up being the best show of the season.  Like Nagisa in Clannad, while Inami isn’t the best girl it makes for the best story.  Given the slow start of B Gata H Kei, the need for DVD quality of Kiss x Sis, the trainwreck that is Angel Beats, the lame art of Katanagatari, the lack of character design in Heroman and the overdose of K-ON!! I must say each week I’ve looked forward to Working! more than any other show.

My face when I think about how I’m going to write about some of my favorite shows.

But as I’ve stated numerous times on this loyal blog of mine, it’s hard for me personally to write about comedies.  I like to write about character design, plot direction, industry/director intentions, and none of these really matter for a comedy as long as the writing is solid – which is what Working! without a doubt has.  Normally I don’t look for the laughs in anime each season (there a dime a dozen each season and starting to become a bit stale) I can honestly say I can reward Working! for taking a setting we don’t often see and having fun with it.

Reverse Moe crush?! Brilliant!

I honestly see A-1 as the next uprising anime studio.  While Working!! did have it’s rough spots (Yamada wound up being my favorite character, but I didn’t like the way they introduced her), as did Sora no Oto (Seriously a whole episode about watching a phone?) I think A-1’s character timing, general execution, and writing can definitely be on the level of producers like Sunrise, KyoAni, and Shaft given a couple years.  The only thing I think they lack is a definitive style (we all know what to expect from KyoAni characters, Shaft openings, and Sunrise plotpoints) and stick very very close to the source material – which is a good thing for a developing anime studio to do.

But no matter how much I like A-1 and Working!!, I’ll remained dissapointed that the first orange-haired character I see in a long time is a tall, short-haired, awkward clown.

Well, atleast her chest is flat.

6 Responses to “Working: Inami Route? [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. 1 darkslime
    June 26, 2010 at 8:44 AM

    >> the lame art of Katanagatari, the lack of character design in Heroman

    Mere preference, my dear desufag. I love the character design in Heroman, and love the art style in Katanagatari.

    Though Katanagatari isn’t quite “one of this season’s shows” because of its monthly release nature…

  2. 2 komidol
    June 26, 2010 at 11:22 AM

    -_- look at the author name

  3. June 26, 2010 at 9:51 PM

    Kom, I am disappoint for your dislike of Katanagatari, but I will support your love of Yamada. She went from being my least favorite character to being my favorite without me noticing. That’s an accomplishment.

  4. 4 komidol
    June 27, 2010 at 1:38 AM

    Katanagatari…I thought it looked interesting but with anime I try not to force myself to watch anything. But the same happened to me with Yamada, I feel like her intro was lacking.

    Yo Patches, did you drop Angel Beats? No comment lately -_-;

  5. 5 desufag
    June 27, 2010 at 7:14 PM

    Inami route? FUCK YES

  6. June 27, 2010 at 9:37 PM

    Yes. I dropped it probably too soon. Lady Sothis has been trying to get me to resume, but I’m having fun playing catch-up with other stuff (FINALLY saw Hidamari S1 & 2).


Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,575 Oranges Picked

