07
May
10

ITS FRIDAY! RPMS SET TO MAXIMUM! [Orange Farm Archive]

Fuck Yeah! It’s Friday! The good shows are out!

Every season, I pick a show that I watch with a good friend of mine, and usually a fun, silly show at that, that’s enjoyable when watched socially, like Baka to Test or Seitokai no Ichizon. This season’s amazingly good lineup had me anticipating what I could use to fill that slot. After my preliminary trials of a few series, I found that the silliest show easily goes to B Gata H Kei, but I really wouldn’t watch that socially, so it was back to the drawing board. But it was another series on the massively good Friday sub releases that caught my eye, Ichiban Ushiro no Daiomao.

As far as the plot summary goes, the first episode told us early off what he wanted to be. According to the protagonist, he wants to be this world’s equivalent of a pope, a pretty lofty goal as he promises a young girl that they will do their best to attain their respective goals. However, once at school, upon divination of his future occupation, which is never wrong, that he is to be a Demon Lord. Let the mayhem begin!

This show has serious levels of Badassery

Our protagonist soon finds himself at odds with the girl he promised, constantly under surveillance from an android, in the devious plots of the most popular girl at school, and the romantic target of an invisible girl. On top of that, he’s on the student council as an enforcer. But your wimpy hero this guy ain’t. Oh, no. On his first mission as an enforcer, he starts snapping arms and legs using magic to rescue one of his only male friends who had been kidnapped. Talk about being a fucking bro.

In our most recent ep, our hero awakens the previous Demon Lord’s pet dragon, after foiling several people’s attempts to get it, and finding an even more sinister plot behind it, and putting some backstory mysteries to rest regarding one of the characters.

Oh, wait, spoke too soon.  Still awesome though.

From a critical standpoint, starting with the art, well, I’m not an art critic; the creator’s style is his own, so frankly, I don’t care what my anime looks like, as long as it does its job of entertaining me. Now with the voice acting, I can say I thoroughly enjoy the voice acting. The emotions are right, and the character’s themselves have voices that seem to fit them. I haven’t checked the cast list, so I don’t know who’s who however, for those of you that might follow your favorite VA’s shows (But I do know Rie Kugimiya, Houko Kuwashima, and Norio Wakamoto aren’t in it).

The OP, while not as catchy as a certain SOME WAN WAN WAN, nor as melodical as Arakawa’s OP, Ichiban’s OP still impresses me with some magical moments of badassery and kind of takes a Vegas twist with the Neon backgrounds during the character intros. The Dragon vs Battleship scene always gets me to Gaijin 4 koma though. The ED is your standard catchy cutesy ED, but lacks the impact as some of the other ED gems this season.

The plot of the show seems to be quite constant, and doesn’t have that episodic feel like most shows I socially watch do, but I’m not complaining here. Granted this first part may be a story arc that has probably just finished, so I’ll see what happens in the next ep, but as far as it goes now, Ichiban is pretty fluid in the story elements, which I do appreciate.

Overall, however, I’m glad I picked this show to socially enjoy with my friends, as we constantly comment on things that happen.

This is my first post here, so I’m still learning the ropes.  On the flipside, once I get situated, in future posts, I’ll try to cover the Friday lineup throughout the week.

8 Responses to “ITS FRIDAY! RPMS SET TO MAXIMUM! [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. 1 komidol
    May 7, 2010 at 9:11 PM

    Glad to see the enthusiasm, Desu. Just be sure to use the read more break bar and tag up your post.

    You seem to put a lot of emphasis about what to socially watch, as in what you talk about and see with friends, and the anime you watch each season. I run into the same problem a lot. Some shows are strictly only fun if you’re watching them at the time, with other people (online or otherwise) and just take a laugh at it. Sometimes if an anime is really entertaining or solid it can be tough to write about.

    Maybe that’s why I grew a habbit of writing about supporting characters – the show is all about the main characters, the rest don’t get any love.

  2. 2 desufag
    May 7, 2010 at 9:52 PM

    I would if I knew how to use those

  3. 3 fattierob
    May 8, 2010 at 10:55 AM

    That’s not a battleship. That’s a submarine with a flight deck.

    10 points from gryffindor.

    Also, you want to type in in HTML mode (or just click the ‘more’ button) when you want the ‘Click here to read the rest of this post’ to go.

    As for tagging, underneath “catergories” theirs a tagging box. You would type in whatever your post is about; comma delimited

    ie: Anime, OP,Ichiban ushiro no daimaou, submarines with flight decks wtf

    …all I can think up.

  4. 4 fattierob
    May 8, 2010 at 10:56 AM

    Right, of course it would not display the HTML

    Also, you want to type in [!–more–] in HTML mode (or just click the ‘more’ button) when you want the ‘Click here to read the rest of this post’ to go.

    But instead of brackets, use

  5. 5 fattierob
    May 8, 2010 at 10:56 AM

    ……Use greater then and less then at the beginning and end, respectively.

    (stupid sexy html posts)

  6. 6 desufag
    May 8, 2010 at 12:47 PM

    Eh, it looked like one to me. And I figured it out.

  7. 7 komidol
    May 8, 2010 at 2:23 PM

    Good, so edit this post and add them on. Also add a new category for Ichiban Ushiro no Daiomao as Anime being a parent category, if you can. I don’t know what restrictions authors are given. But add the tags on.

  8. 8 fattierob
    May 8, 2010 at 7:07 PM

    Seriously, who the fuck thought it’d be a good idea to put a flight deck on a submarine

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Submarine_aircraft_carriers_of_Japan
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I-400_class_submarine

    ….

    God damnit Japan.


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 290,007 Oranges Picked

