17
Apr
10

Angel Beats 03 [Orange Farm Archive]

One down, fifteen to go…

Ignorant, naive, and leading a group when you clearly have no fucking idea what’s going on yourself.  Way to go, Yuri.

Moving on the to the important characters, I was happy to net this invaluable line from our little angel this episode.  I like the tone of Angel Beats! – changing quicker rather than later – because if Tenshi isn’t going to be the antagonist I want to know before episode five.  I think she’ll remain mysterious a bit longer simply because she’s the missing piece of our puzzle though.  This is pretty much where the real story comes into place, thanks to this new guy…

I hope you’re alive the whole anime and no one calls you Christ at any point in the series.

No introduction, no background at all, super suspicious.  Whether he’s just another recruit or a major part of leading the battalion around, I don’t know, but I think it was interesting how they found Tenshi’s weapon data.  Tenshi makes weapons the same way Yuri and the guild does, so it makes you seriously doubt the light Yuri has put her under (as the “enemy”).  Would be nice to see some big plot in the next episode or two.  That is, anything about the antagonist, Yuri, Otonashi’s memories, or anything that can explain the setting.  The build-up is pretty good, so this series definitely has my attention.

Seems like TK is doing just fine as well.  I desperately hope he doesn’t just get one little cameo appearance every episode only to wind up becoming a token line every episode.  I want to see more TK present throughout the whole episode, unlike how he was right here.  I admit thought, I still laughed at his line and cheesy 80’s music in the background.  I must be easy to please.

I don’t know what you did, or couldn’t do, Tenshi…

But I was very surprised they got rid of one of the key members so quickly.  A bit disappointed her disappearance didn’t warrant more of a reaction from our main male lead, Otonashi (since Iwasawa is the first girl to disappear.)  I guess Yuri didn’t want her to play her ballad because she figured this might happen.  Oh well, they’ll probably be pegging off characters at least every other episode (Having four main leads and 15-16 members), so I’m expecting this to happen for now on – without any crazy Higurashi reboot (thought I know the world is not real, thanks to typical Maeda/Key).

Dat baby fang.  Also, dat exclamation mark!  What’s with all the solid snake references!?

Fortunately, I think we’ll have a replacement for the diversionary squad leader.  Her name is Yui, and she wants to sing and lead on guitar.  What a surprise.  How original. Not too into the storyline of this group, but I think the way they were portrayed in this episode was better than it could of been.  The blonde girl tripping the guy and their concert (you know, them actually doing their best to divert and not just ripping off music-anime hype) is pretty solid.

For whatever reason, Yui is listed as a main character along with Otonashi, Tenshi, and Yuri.  So I guess we should expect a lot of her.

I for one, welcome our new pink-haired, angelic, gun-wielding overlords.


8 Responses to “Angel Beats 03 [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. 1 RyanA
    April 17, 2010 at 10:21 PM

    Yui so full of light!

    A bit disappointed her disappearance didn’t warrant more of a reaction from our main male lead

    Yes, that was awkward. Maybe it’s not fully clear to him, idk. O.o

  2. April 18, 2010 at 2:31 AM

    I need to learn how to strafe-moonwalk like she does in 6:52

    @RyanA

    I’m sure they still have stuff planned for Otonashi, though. I think Maeda is getting bored of writing protagonist male roles, though. It’s hard to come up with a good idea for a main character without them seeming like the main character. Writing visual novels you don’t have to work all that hard other than make someone who gets plenty of introduction/observation of everything going on. I personally think Otonashi thus far is the worst main character role Maeda has written yet, though. Even Tomoya, Yuuichi, and crow-boy had more to them than Otonashi. He might be better than Riki, though. Still waiting for Little Busters to finish translation.

    His female characters are fine and dynamic enough (though they bear archetypes to an extent), but Maeda has to reanalyze his male character builds. Despite all the talkdown in comparison to his other characters though, I think if any reasonable rational adult male was in Otonashi’s position they’d be doing the same thing, so I can’t hold it against Angel Beats. Memory loss isn’t terribly interesting though (we’ve seen it too many times). It’s the quick shortcut for people who want narrate a story without bias, but it doesn’t work for anime the way it would for visual novels or books.

    Hopefully that’s one of the things Maeda learns before he writes another anime (if ever).

  3. 3 Vivio
    April 18, 2010 at 6:51 AM

    Tenshis line about her not being the bad guy really got me thinking.
    My guess is that she’s in a similar situation as the guys in SSS. She’s just a normal girl who died and woke up in that world before Yuri and everyone else. She probably also has reasons why she doesn’t want to be erased and that’s why she keeps fighting. The many years of loneliness have made her emotionless. Of course she’d like to become friends with everyone but she knows she can’t, because if there’s no enemy they’d all get erased sooner or later. Poor Tenshi-chan… ;_;

  4. April 18, 2010 at 8:02 AM

    The background music of TK’s line was actually the song ‘Get Wild’, which was an ending song for the anime ‘City Hunter’ or something. I know this because Tamaki Nami made a cover for the song…

    But about the episode, it was pretty strange to me how Tenshi’s powers apparently were made by herself. Weren’t the people only able to make specific things if they remembered it from their life? I guess this will only be explained with there being more depth in the characters’ abilities.

    I can finally see the plot forming itself with this episode, especially since the last one disappointed me a bit with the lack of any plot development. I guess we’ll finally know what the show will focus on in the next few eps before it grows into something gorgeous like all Key stories do.

  5. 5 Arvelous
    April 18, 2010 at 5:06 PM

    It was pretty good episode. I didn’t know what to look for with this series really. But, TK is the man.

  6. 6 novalisk
    April 18, 2010 at 5:11 PM

    Yui~ I was waiting for her for a long time, and hoping she will really get some screentime later on. Also, I think she has more of a succubus theme than that of a snake =)

    Also, this episode gives room to too many theories…

    Oh, and I’m quite sure TK will get his own arc later on, he quite popular after all, and his story could turn out to be quite interesting (and manly).

  7. April 18, 2010 at 10:40 PM

    @Vivio: Probably something like that. The only thing I think we can be sure of is that Tenshi has been around longer than anyone else (except possibly Yuri). It doesn’t seem like any of them have been there *too* long, given the uniforms and general mental attitude of everyone. But we can’t forget that they don’t age while they are there, so it’s possible some of them have been there as long as ten years.

    @Aelms: Thanks for the info about the song, reminds me of the last episode where he said “Get wild then”. Maybe a favorite song of one of the writers or something? Interesting tidbit. Anyway, the last episode had plenty of plot, I think. They explained where there armaments come from and had to show off the rest of the setting. I think they’re doing it right.

    @Arvy: I think it has something for everyone. Comedy, drama, action – as all good stories do.

    @Nova: Yes. More Yui is very good. I hope both her and TK get their own episode, but not everyone can, since we’re only sitting on a 13 episode series (which is a damned shame). But I’m sure it’ll be better in the end. Alot of writing goes into each episode, so they probably didn’t want to have Maeda extend his hand too much.

    Hopefully the ending is good and doesn’t suck like in Air.

  8. 8 novalisk
    April 19, 2010 at 5:00 AM

    Yeah, Air came to mind when I found out about it being ony 13 episodes long.
    It had potential, but they just couldn’t fit the story in. But let’s put our faith into Maeda this time.

    Also, I for one think that Tenshi is longer there than anyone else, even Yuri.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,903 Oranges Picked

