06
Apr
10

Heroman 01 [Orange Farm Archive]

An interesting production this season…

I wonder if this is the “generic robot” or “male ascension” storyline that appeals to Gar and Super Robot fans in the same way a magical girl show would appear to a moe fan.  Does it have the same effect?  I know being of moe-generation, it doesn’t really work on me as much.

That being said, I probably won’t follow through with this one this season, but there is a few things I wanted to mention about Heroman.  Primarily, it’s incredible research and attention to detail of an American Setting.

Look at those shitty, gas-guzzling cars!

A real garbage-truck, in a suburban areas of houses lined up!

A fucking school-bus!

Look at this classroom.  It’s not Japanese!  It’s American!  Random flag, stuff all around the walls!

No uniforms!  Everyone is wearing something different.  Fucking lockers!

No cussing?

I still found some stereotypes present in the show.  For example, no one, runs in place.  They did the jock-cheerleader-stereotype thing, which I’m sure happens in SOME places, but it’s not as common as it was in the 80’s.  Still, I liked to see traces of American social structure, including an outspoken girl (by nature) and not absolutely insane like outspoken-anime-girls.  I think Bones was also a good studio for this, since their animation production can look somewhat American.

Anyway, not too interested in the story, but I thought this was really fucking cool and worth mentioning.  It got me excited to see, as an American Otaku.  I’m looking forward to see what Japanese stereotypes aren’t true when I visit Japan (hopefully next year), and what I hear from Darkslime’s trip in this upcoming summer.

Really cool to have an English background with this and that crazy guy from Angel Beats this season, though.  It’s as if someone called Japan and told them they have Anime fans not in Japan.  I’ve never been a fan of comics or what not, and I understand how Engrish might turn some people off, but I don’t mind this extra exposure in my anime.  It’s about time we got a legitimate anime-style America setting in the lineup.

2 Responses to “Heroman 01 [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. 1 Arvelous
    April 11, 2010 at 10:32 AM

    I heard about this from a friend. I’m excited to hear Mr.Stan Lee was involved. So I’ll defiantly check it out. It seems like I’ll follow working! and Heroman maybe. If I get the chance to view them.

  2. 2 komidol
    April 21, 2010 at 4:37 PM

    These types of animes are popular with a lot of people, unfortunately I’m not one of them.

    Maybe Darkslime will make a series review or something, though.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,756 Oranges Picked

