17
Jan
10

Saki (Full Series Review) (Yuuki Appreciation) [Orange Farm Archive]

Two weeks without a computer…what do I do?
Go through a Mahjong anime phase.

The inside of a taco is warm.

So when Saki began airing in April, I definitely didn’t have the time to watch some moe highschool anime.  I wish I had gone back and watched this earlier in fall, since my no-internet time is when I generally when I marathon anime.  I’ve mentioned before I don’t like marathon anime, but I’m glad I did with Saki.  I probably would of dropped it if it was airing weekly.

It’s a show about mahjong.

And the reason for that would be the horrible main characters.  While I do have some appreciation for Nodoka’s logical personality and Saki’s backstory, the main characters were completely un-entertaining.  They both grew on me a bit, but in general I don’t see them as really amazing or worth watching.  So, if it wasn’t obvious enough I instantly put Saki in the something-to-do-entertaining anime section of mind, where I don’t look for anything of value, but instead, make fun of it and laugh at the humour of it.

Nodoka is actually kinda cute when you can’t see her big boobs.

A certain taco loli was very valuable in providing this entertainment.  Couldn’t get enough of her rush-down attitude.

If I see that fang one more time…

Did I mention I totally had a fang fetish?  To be honest I feel kinda guilty for liking the show.  I thought I was passed this type of light highschool-harem quality.  It wasn’t good at all, but each episode was executed so well I never felt like a scene was out of place or not needed.  I guess that’s what happens when you have solid source material.  I think the second budget will be a lot bigger.

Maybe I’m still just a kid at heart.

She’s 17, really.

I think the desire for any child-like behavior (that is, wanting attention, trying to be the best at something, acting in your own interest) should for now on be named the Koromo-complex.  It’s not Kodomo, it’s Koromo!

You should go swimming, then.

Can I also call the Kunihiro-complex?  Entering into something with direct ambition when formerly not enjoying it.  Each of the characters had a reasonable bit of backstory which at times got annoying (especially with one-eye’s group), but I found it to be generally satisfying.  Loving side characters is part of the Orange Farm’s way!  The fact each one had something at-least a little interesting made each mahjong game enjoyable.  I’m glad none of the four players at the table were irrelevant (like in Akagi) and each one had their own reason for playing and winning.  Competition is one of my favorite things so seeing a lot of characters into playing probably made the show click with me.

I don’t know how much I’m going to like learning a completely random-based game, but I guess I’ll learn some mahjong for the hell of it.  Anything I can follow up with from an anime is always an entertaining experience.  I wonder how hard it would be to start a mahjong club at my college…

Shit’s so Yugioh.

All I got to do is draw all the pieces of Exodia Rinshan Kaihou, right?  It’s easy, RIGHT!?

5 Responses to “Saki (Full Series Review) (Yuuki Appreciation) [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. January 18, 2010 at 1:28 AM

    I’m so glad you checked out Saki! Kugimiya-dono ALSO sold the show to me and Yuuki was by FAR the most amusing character in the cast. I think the pacing was a complete train-wreck as the series really reached its climax in the middle instead of the end.

    HOWEVER, I would be psyched for the second season (the preview nested in the final episode made me drool). Saki herself has an interesting backstory, which I’m more intrigued about than Nonotits.

  2. 2 fattierob
    January 18, 2010 at 7:54 PM

    >All I got to do is Rinshan Kaihou, right?

    You typoed “Kukushi Musou”

  3. 3 ehrik
    January 18, 2010 at 11:39 PM

    Damn it all, looks delicious

  4. January 20, 2010 at 12:56 PM

    >You typoed “Kukushi Musou”

    You typoed “Kokushi Musou”.


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 290,367 Oranges Picked

