06
Jan
10

First Frames of the Decade ~ Winter 2010 [Orange Farm Archive]

Here we go again…

So, I’m eagerly awaiting several things right now…

-The motivation to stop procrastinating my packing.
-My comiket downloads to finish.

So, I thought I’d actually write about anime for once (as it’s been a rarity around here).  I totally caught up with Railgun, and I’m debating whether or not to post about it.  When I move I won’t have the internet speed I have now (for at least, and possibly longer than several months) so obtaining anime may come rarely or all at once.  Despite that, I’ll be dedicating myself to three shows again this season, which I’ll hopefully have somewhat streamlined updates for.

So here’s my official declaration of lineup for Winter 2k10, looking much better than fall…

#3) Dance in the Vampire Bund

Atleast this anime won’t make me afraid of staplers…

Animator: Shaft
Subber:  Most likely Shinsen Subs
Hype Level:  Look, she’s 1000+ years old, you guys…

I like girls with fangs, so I have to try this one out.  SHAFT has been doing well in recent years, promoting their odd art styles and show ideas to the public, but I never actually manage to finish an entire SHAFT anime (SZS and Bakemonogatari included).  It’s usually a cool concept but eventually it either bores me or becomes to much work to watch the show.  They seem to be going a bit easier this time, so we’ll see how things work out.

#2) So Ra No Wo To

Yui, 3 years after K-ON!

Animator: A-1
Subber: ggkthx
Hype Level:  Avionics online.  Launching cycle process initiating.  K-ONification, clear.  Giitah?  Stand by, Ready.

If this show can pull off a Sky Girls-like story I’ll watch it.  I’m sure some later anime fans will see parallels between strike witches and K-ON, which is what I think the fans animators want to draw in (for money’s sake), but I’m hoping for something worth watching.  Since GG is subbing it, chances are it will have decent exposure.  None the less, it’s not KyoAni doing it, so it can’t be a true clone (like the parallels between Air, Clannad, and Kanon).  Speaking of Key and KyoAni, where the hell is my Little Busters anime?!  I’ve been waiting for Noumi to make an appearance forever!  First episodes already out, maybe I’ll make a post later in the week.

#1) Hanamaru Kindergarten

They’re really super robots, right?….Right?!

Animator: Gainax
Subber: N/A
Hype-Level: PIERCE THE HEAVENS WITH YOUR BUILDING BLOCK!

Seriously!? Gainax, is doing this?!  If it’s not some horrible kid’s show and is a serious comedy I’m looking forward to it.  Please tell me we’re looking at FLCL-level humor.  I was never a huge fan of TTGL or NGE, but FLCL is an old favorite.  Come on Gainax, I know you got another one in you…I’m already set for weekly updates.  Too bad a subber hasn’t declared it yet… :(

The motherly side of LOYALTY!!!

Luckily we also have the Utawarerumono OVA (Already Released), Lupin III OVA, and F/SN Movie to look forward to, in addition to the other movies I’ve mentioned numerous times coming out later this year (specifically Nanoha and Trigun).  Shaping up to be better for anime, since Fall was such a disgrace.  I can’t help but feel we’re regressing to some different eras of anime I’m not as used to this year though.  I doubt it’s a bad thing.  It’ll be good to see a show with some substance, it’s been a while.

6 Responses to “First Frames of the Decade ~ Winter 2010 [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. January 6, 2010 at 2:10 PM

    Watched the first episode of Sora no Oto, need to watch one or two more to actually figure out where the hell the show is going(if anywhere). But it could turn out to be cool.

    I’m also getting REALLY aggravated at calling the show Sora no Woto. IT’S NOT A WO. DID WE CALL THE EVANGELION MOVIES “WEVANGELIWON”? DID WE CALL THE SHIP FROM GUNBUSTER “WELTREUM”? NO WE DIDN’T ARGHGHJSDHGFSJKDGD

  2. January 6, 2010 at 2:11 PM

    Also: That girl on the right in the Weiss Survive R picture look familiar to you?

  3. January 6, 2010 at 3:31 PM

    “PIERCE THE HEAVENS WITH YOUR BUILDING BLOCK” olololololol!

    Seriously, though. I’m thinking of Vampire Bund, and saw the first ep of Sora no Oto, but I’m kind of ambivalent beyond that. None of my favorite studios are involved this season. T.T

    Durarara!!’s PV looked interesting, and Omamori Himari is streaming on Crunchy, so hmm… (although, I MIGHT be forcing myself through Ladies Vs. Butlers which will fill my ecchi quotient for the YEAR). I’m just at a loss. Production I.G., J.C. Staff, WHAR R U?

  4. 4 ALTER
    January 7, 2010 at 2:05 AM

    Sora no Oto was not bad. Their foreshadowing shows that it won’t be a K-ON Season 2… Rather we have a demonic winged beast that razed the land with fire and a baneblade with missile launchers. Hm… But it could turn out to be tea parties and music for 3/4ths of it for all we know, but hey it might end up being like Utawarerumono. Also, Rio looking like Mio, nah. She looks more like Chihaya Kisaragi, just with a chest…

    J.C. Staff is continuing Railgun, hell we might reach the SISTERS arc at this rate. 26 Episodes.

    Pro IG is doing Halo and Dante lolololol

    Also you can’t forget about that Nanoha Fighting Game on the PSP Orange-kun.

    Ookamikakushi looks interesting… Katanagatari I’ve heard good things about so I’ll pick it up.

  5. January 7, 2010 at 1:15 PM

    Really? I’ve only heard poor things about Katanagatari… even though the art style looks awesome >o<

  6. 6 fattierob
    January 10, 2010 at 2:21 AM

    “Wexcel Saga” sounds so much better, however.


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 290,266 Oranges Picked

