15
Aug
09

C76 Day 2 – Koumajo Densetsu Scarlet Symphony (Darkslime) [Orange Farm Archive]

Frontier Asia came out with a game called “Koumajo Densetsu ~ Scarlet Symphony”(紅魔城伝説 緋色の交響曲) at C76. I believe it’s a Castlevania-styled platformer starring Touhou characters, with a touch of danmaku to boot.

Whatever the case, it’s beautiful to look at.

akumajo3

I’m not a big fan of the Castlevania series – probably just because I’ve never played the games. If I played every single game that people told me “oh my god you’ve never played it PLAY IT NOW >o<“, I wouldn’t have any time for a life, you see! In any case, this game is really hard. It took me four or five tries to beat the first stage. I think the key is to move forward cautiously and not just run through the whole level, because those damn birds will impale you at the slightest chance.

akumajo1

Overall, this game impressed me a lot. First off, it looks amazing. Both the normal artwork and the sprite artwork present a very unique feel to the game(that I guess is supposed to remind you of Castlevania). Second off, the music is fantastic. There’s even a vocal opening song if you let the title screen sit for a few seconds. I think there might be an ending song, too, but I’ll never get that far :D

First boss is Cirno. All the bosses seem to have one pattern. But it’s still kind of difficult until you get the controls down. Basically, you have a whip(er, that thing Reimu carries), and you can fly, and throw cards. Using all these skills in tandem is the key to victory, it seems.

akumajo2

Stage 2 is significantly harder, because there are these weird birds that drop big frogs on you, and lizard men that pop out of the water and take three hits to kill. At the end, you face China. She killed me, so I don’t know what’s after her.

akumajo4

She shoots some rainbow bullets at you, calls up the maids for an attack, and even karate-kicks your FACE. That’s usually what kills me.

So, even though this is a tough game, it looks and sounds beautiful. The one complaint I have is the length of your invincibility after getting hit – it’s so short, you could end up being hit by the same bullet like three times if you’re not paying attention, and that really sucks. If you’re a fan of CV and/or platformers and/or Touhou, I suggest you check it out, just to see if you like it.

I gotta go, just got 12.3.

8 Responses to “C76 Day 2 – Koumajo Densetsu Scarlet Symphony (Darkslime) [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. 1 komidol
    August 19, 2009 at 1:18 AM

    This first boss is Cirno?!

    CIRNO 76 ANYONE?

  2. September 8, 2009 at 6:04 PM

    Got the game from a friend and yes it’s HARD! I have played Castlevania from Famicom and CV:SOTN and loved the game. When I heard of this game, I tried my hands on it and Cirno killed me. Yeah, she’s hard but gotta move on. China is irritating for she often floats higher until you ran out of cards and resort to whip her while falling down. Next is Sakuya and she throws a LOT of knives but look for the pattern so you will not be killed ^_^.

    I managed to reach Alice and killed her if not for my stupidness to go near her last projectile and that kicked my bucket. Overall, it’s impressive and the music’s enthralling at it’s best. I liked the music in Sakuya’s stage the best (as for now). You can summon Marisa to give you a bomb-like assist but it also have a delay. Although you would really use it in very tight situations.

    I use a USB controller and loved playing the game with my pet kitten Mackarel who’s faithfully beside me everytime I play the game…

    – Miss Nellie –

  3. 3 darkslime
    September 8, 2009 at 9:23 PM

    Ah, I never played enough to get past China. And haha, Alice is after Sakuya? Would have thought Patchouli would be somewhere in there. XD

  4. September 9, 2009 at 2:45 AM

    I’m still trying to go past Alice but my fingers fail me. I should have rest T_T.

    Looking for other information where could Patchouli would be, and I hint Koakuma is still with her. Remila would be the vampire I’m looking forward on fighting for and I hope Flansr’es there too as a super hard boss again. ^_^

    – Miss Nellie –

  5. September 13, 2009 at 11:13 PM

    Finally beaten Alice! Boy, her dolls really spam danmakus everywhere! Anyway, I entered the Coliseum and met the Minotaur and Werewolf but they’re just sub-bosses. Good theing we have spammable skeletons to stock spirits for projectile. Suika is the boss of this stage and she still have the Missing Purple Power skill from IAMP and all those irritating danmakus.

    I got into the Viole Library and met Patchouli but got killed because of her element-based projectile and special, and my hand’s got tired already. I’ll continue playing tomorrow…

    – Miss Nellie –

  6. 6 darkslime
    September 14, 2009 at 8:11 AM

    Wow, seems like there’s really a lot of levels.

  7. 7 Gonzalo
    September 17, 2009 at 11:15 PM

    I downloaded the patch 1.02, how can I install it from the 1.01 version??

  8. September 18, 2009 at 4:19 AM

    That’s what I’m having problems too. I can download the patch but it keeps on cutting itself out and leads to nowhere. I hope there’s an English patch too!

    – Miss Nellie –


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,575 Oranges Picked

