13
Aug
09

Spice and Wolf 06 [Orange Farm Archive]

snapshot20090813005520

WINNER!!!

Based on my predictions from last episode, maybe I should of trusted Horo a bit more too.  But atleast I guessed the overall outcome correctly.  Horo was unnecessarily acting out of character, because she had a plan.  I figured that would be the outcome.

snapshot20090813005611

And this one, too.

snapshot20090813005616

Jesus Christ!

Though, it’s a long shot to say it wasn’t entertaining.  I hadn’t thought that Horo was the one who made a deal with Deanna so this was a good ending to the arc.  What I like about this series over a series like Code Geass or Death Note is that the answer is self-evident.  As in, it’s possible to figure out the turn of events.  A lot of the entertainment from the aforementioned series came from the main characters coming up with some super-ridiculous plan no one could think of, because that character is a genius.  Well, when you think about it, the world – being a story – does revolve around them and it’s easy for an author to create an opening for something crazy to happen.  It’s like moving a chess piece across the board to sweep a piece, except you can make any piece whatever you want.  It can look amazing, but it really isn’t.

snapshot20090813004714

Do you believe in wolfomimi cleverdere pagan wolf gods who are good at economics?

Spice and Wolf creates the board and makes unexpected moves.  It uses fantasy – but consistent – economics to create complicated situations.  Certain pieces have certain powers and the author doesn’t just move things around without rhyme or reason.  In this sense, Spice and Wolf is an incredibly well written story centered around a mature theme.  It mixes the mind game well into a love sort of adventure story.  The large degree of realism in the story adds to this experience as well, which is probably why a fantasy setting was chosen.

snapshot20090813012529

Do you feel bad for him?

snapshot20090813004608

I don’t.

This is the penalty for trying to take down a bond and trust forged on love, passion, and LOYALTY!

snapshot20090813011630

I liked the pressure build up throughout the first half of the episode and using Lanto as a mean to explain to the viewer what was going on.  If not for this I would of found it even more entertaining.  It was a good story telling tactic and also kept the pressure of the entire arc up.  I’m also liking how they’re using the vision-dim special effect to show both past events and theoretical future events.

snapshot20090813011648

I would like to interject for a moment about my real life.  I learned more about economics from this anime than I did in my college economics class.  The more you know.

snapshot20090813011010

You think *I’m* in the mood after all the work you just made me do?  Get me some beer!

The wise wolf god is starting to sound way too much like Kallen.  I think it’s a combination of Jun using Lawrence to sound like LeLouche and also because she barely had a line the previous episode.  They never sounded anything like that in the first season.  They’re getting way too comfortable – I hope the director hammers down on this.  This is the only complaint I’m currently holding against Spice and Wolf.

snapshot20090813010228

Now if you’ll excuse me, I must get ready for the festival.

2 Responses to “Spice and Wolf 06 [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. August 14, 2009 at 8:33 AM

    ^_^

    Some of the voice-acting thing has come from the difference in TONE Horo is using this season. Her playfulness seems to have diminished a little. For me, it was a little more apparent at the beginning of the season that it is now, but I understand where you’re coming from. Maybe she’s floundering a little with Horo’s subtle character changes?

    Note: Due to too much Shugo Chara, I heard “Chara-Changee!” in my head when I wrote that last sentence.

  2. 2 komidol
    August 14, 2009 at 1:31 PM

    Ahhh I need to watch Shugo Chara too…too much this season!


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 290,137 Oranges Picked

