31
Jul
09

Spice and Wolf Season II (01-03) [Orange Farm Archive]

snapshot20090727024954

Red eyes, a beret, and a wolfkomimi and a cleverdere and a DFC?

Horo, where have you been my love?

snapshot20090726225150

…………

snapshot20090726225259

Horo, Furry of the Year for I believe 2008 has returned for a season 2, welcomedly.  The first season of Spice and Wolf aired luckily enough while I was taking my economics humanity class, and since it was the ray of sunshine that made that class fun I have since been quite fond of it.

Though abnormal circumstance is far from the only reason I have for liking Spice and Wolf.  The show’s quality is decently high – featuring LeLouch’s and Kallen’s voice actors as the main roles and a mature theme which makes for an excellent story.  I couldn’t tell you what I like the most about Spice and Wolf, but it’s balance of supernatural elements, realistic setting, comedy, and chemistry between Horo and Lawrence have always made it fun to watch.

snapshot20090727030759

“So…you just want your K-ON moeblobs, amirite…”

The mature story is and was always a welcome inbetween unrealistic action or slice of life moe, and the character development is true and noticable, since it was such a short series(Spanning 13 episodes and one OVA).  This season of Spice and Wolf seems to be more focused on growing the relationship between Horo and Lawrence, and I’m not sure just how much I’m looking forward to that.

snapshot20090727024202

snapshot20090727024209

Tail.

The best part about the first season for me was the adult relationship these two had.  They were very different people and travelled together for mutual benefit.  Of course, the first season had it’s hints of romantic tension, but they were normally played off with comedy.  It’s pretty much a given that Horo has grown reliant on Lawrence in the time off between season one and two and my cleverdere seems to dote a bit more on his reaction than I’m used to.

snapshot20090727024357

I’m glad to see that the style is still certainly present, and while you can feel some small time skip, it doesn’t feel like there’s a big difference in the seasons.  It still feels like Spice and Wolf, but later in the series.  I very much like it’s style, and I’m happy to see it here again.  I frequently question whether or not I’m going to like the continuation of a series (with the large amount of sequels being released this past season and year), but Spice and Wolf is not dissapointing me.

snapshot20090727025251

I’ve always been a fan of the big backstory behind the day-to-day life of Horo’s actions, and this season is no doubt looking to expand on that.  I’m looking forward to an emotionally unstable Horo.

snapshot20090727023032

This is not a bad development.

Lawrence is most certainly the type of guy who wouldn’t take advantage of a woman in a weakened state.  He’s characterized by his restraint and common sense, so I don’t think he’d fall to any sort of seduction either.  In this sense, I think Horo both feels safe and frustrated with him.  Though, I think we’re in for a stage-kiss this season.  Watching Spice and Wolf has always felt like watching a theater play.  A damned good theater play.

Seven apples on a witch’s tree…
With seven seeds to plant inside of me~

3 Responses to “Spice and Wolf Season II (01-03) [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. July 31, 2009 at 10:41 AM

    The whirlwind breakdown in episode 3 struck me as a little odd. It was mesmerizing, but stretched believability a tad. Horo poured forth with a litany of valid emotional responses, but at a pace that seemed inconsistent with her age and the tone of the series up to that point.

    That said, the plot results have been epic. Question is: Would you crash a market for Horo? Answer: Or die trying.

  2. 2 komidol
    July 31, 2009 at 5:07 PM

    I’d crash a market with Horo, if you know what I mean.

  3. August 1, 2009 at 2:08 AM

    Oh, come now, you don’t have to be that discreet.

    Be honest, when she said, “Would you mate with me?” You screamed, “YES” and attempted to jump into your monitor.

    I know I nearly broke a TV…


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 290,276 Oranges Picked

