10
Jul
09

Summer 2009 – A Drug that Makes you Dream~ [Orange Farm Archive]

The most addicting drug…

The Otaku community is by far the most addicting thing I’ve ever experienced in my life.  Being away from it even for a day is devastating, and it’s constantly satisfying.  This season really reminds me of why this life path is acceptable for me to spend most of my off time on.  Naturally, I like to use this blog to keep a record of it all.

Daily Dose

Every meme from the a cat is fine too to the daily dose is without a doubt something I would be lost without.  I spend my life looking for a way to bring something close to an event or scenario from even a cliche anime to life, and love every minute of it.  Even in the endless recursion of time in which the otaku community repeats itself through every three or so years, it’s never boring.

The last season that really brought Otaku to light was Fall 2006 with Kanon, Code Geass, and Death Note.  It had a nice stage since Haruhi (which aired that spring) had revived the fanbase.  It’s odd that Summer is a top-tier this year, since normally Fall and Spring are the better seasons.  Regardless, I’ve always been a supporter of watching things as they come out to be part of everything, and against marathoning.

1246817305034

Alright, enough of my phisophicabble.

Anyway, the title of this post isn’t just a part of my analogy, Yume Miru Kusuri ( A Drug That Makes You Dream ) is the latest visual novel I’ve been playing.  I’m sad to say that I don’t have a lot of good insight into new visual novels that are coming out (or rather, being translated), but Yandere Translations is still hard at work on Sengoku Rance.

Saya

What I do know is Nitroplus signed a contract to port some of their works over to the States.  I’m worried what this might turn into politically, if it catches on.  I’m also sad to say my personal translation project, Magical Girl Kirara & Sarara, has fallen apart a bit, but I’m hoping it can start up again to have atleast a single route teaser patch done for it before the end of Summer.  Unfortunately, it hasn’t been my translator’s priority at the moment.

1246689711155

Fiery Angry Imouto Alert!

In the mean time I’ve been playing Yume Miru Kusuri for my visual novel fill.  Seems interesting, but it’s a very narrow audience base.  It’s not exactly new for summer, but the summer fags have created enough hype where it’s nice to be able to get a fresh breath of something not being raved about this season.

In other news, SaiMoe and some AMV competitions are coming up again this year.  I have to say I’m rather impressed with some of the things that have been done, dabbling into video editing myself.  Aside something noted in the above video’s comment, this one really left a fresh reminded of Code Geass, even if the style of the editor isn’t something I normally enjoy.  1246619637382

Can’t handle…all of it…

Well expect us to be covering as much as we can this season, but I think weekly updates for 4 animes (Haruhi, Canaan, Umineko, and Zetsubou) might be a bit much for us to handle.  Personally I’ll probably be covering story arcs in a lot of the animes I mentioned this week, sort of like my Haruhi Endless Eight post (even though that particular arc isn’t finished yet).

f83519356c2d6b0c1f9ef858dcbd0dfb86df6c88

HNNNNNNNNGHHHHH

I wasn’t lying when I said Summer had a lot earlier this June.  In addition to everything I posted about this week, Spice and Wolf and Comiket are still on their way this August, along with a new Kara no Kyokai later this month.  Not to mention my fighting game addiction.

4e62c0f9a6e789cf80c7fd4b14a11917a8e6624c

A Tsundere that Makes you Dream

Not even my subconscious has been able to escape the threat of Summer 2009.  I managed to have a Haruhi/TypeMoon crossover dream.  For some reason Kyon appears while I’m working on something with an odd attire on.  After we exchanged a few words, (mostly me saying what the hell are you doing here? and him giving his typical dissatisfied face, he appeared like Archer did for Rin); Lancer appears and begins fighting with him, chasing him down.  In a way I can’t quite remember, I get caught up in the ordeal, and Kyon escapes after leaving me with some sort of gateway with a transitional power or something.  Lancer somehow threatens me, after giving some speech about how he’ll come after me, but I escape.  I use the power for quite a while (possibly a few months?) and I’m on some sort of mission(I don’t know from who, if anyone).  I’m at a ballroom party of sorts, and Rin is very relaxed, and probably a little tipsy.  It seems she’s eaten a bit and warms up to me a lot.  I hold her very closely and begin dancing with her, and she has a deep blush on her face the whole time.

27a708d6637a17d2457afef01911dc8a85d68cfc

A tsundere is fine too, but when am I going to get my Kohaku dream?!

For some reason it feels as if my job was to trick her(she appeared to cluelessly be enjoying herself), and I felt rather guilty about it.  Or perhaps I was just watching the entire dream from Kyon’s point of view.  Unfortunately I don’t remember very well.  I must say I’m quite pleased with remembering these dreams over my typical mundane dreams, though.  Maybe they entertain you as well.  At this rate I may end up like Takumi.

1246818316801

I’ll trust Kamina to handle Umineko, and DarkSlime to keep your mecha and Touhou fill in check, while I dish out the KyoAni and TypeMoon stuffs.  We look forward to the comments, Onii-chan!

5 Responses to “Summer 2009 – A Drug that Makes you Dream~ [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. July 10, 2009 at 12:49 PM

    …Heh. In a short of mirror-world version of you, I’ve gotten into a new NON-anime related addiction in the early summer which is making the amount of epic here very painful. Between the 2 holdovers and what might be SIX new series for the summer, I am holding on for dear life with little time to make AMVs. Good thing you’re around to condense the community for me. ;)

    ALSO: Bakemonogatari!!!!! I left it off my watch list, but it looks to be HUGE. Very, very pretty. If you like the Art in SZS (which I know you do), you’ll love this one.

  2. 2 komidol
    July 10, 2009 at 2:29 PM

    Well that’s more of Darkslime’s category.

  3. 3 minhgurluver
    July 14, 2009 at 5:33 PM

    NOOOOO! PLZ don’t show me anymore Saya plz! :( btw i like that STFU thing. a lot of GIF coming soon i guess

  4. 4 uk
    March 2, 2015 at 11:25 PM

    May I just say what a comfort to discover a person that genuinely knows what they’re discussing on the net.
    You certainly realize how to bring a problem to light and
    make it important. More people ought to check this out and understand this side
    of the story. It’s surprising you are not more popular because you most certainly possess the gift.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,575 Oranges Picked

