08
Jul
09

Summer 2009 R1 – Canaan 01 [Orange Farm Archive]

snapshot20090706042758

It’s been a while since we’ve seen anything new from Type-Moon.  Now, if only they would make a Tsukihime anime.

snapshot20090706040712

Get Up!

Canaan looks action packed this season.  A lot of action isn’t really my thing, but if I can enjoy Black Lagoon, than I can certainly get into this.

snapshot20090706043101

pew pew pew!

snapshot20090706043115

Sure looks pretty Ryougi in here.

snapshot20090706040932

Canaan sure is a pretty girl.  She needs to drop the smoking habbit, though.  Looks like Type-Moon is trying hard not to fuck this anime up, considering how meh their previous adaptions, with the exception of Kara no Kyokai, have been.  Nasu must be cracking down on this after F/SN was so meh.  Atleast she doesn’t have the misfortune of having an anime adaption so bad the very existence of it would be denied.  I mean, that would just be horrible.

snapshot20090706041036

Sure looks pretty Saber in here.

It’s pretty easy to pick up the similarity in the character designs.  Nasu has a love for her characters, but their personalities are diverse enough that despite some similar appearance’s it never seems like a rehash.  Type-Moon is a bro like that.  Especially if you consider how different the personalities of Arcueid and Saber are.

snapshot20090706041253

Sure looks pretty Irisviel and Kiritsugu in here.

Certainly a larger Fate//Zero and Kara No Kyokai background went into Canaan.  Looks like Nasu is going back to her routes now that she’s more successful and can afford to.  Probably got bored her H-game setup style and wants to bring her stories to life.  As much as I love the H-scenes in her visual novels, I think it’s something she did to make money to bring her other stories to life.  And of course, vent her frustrations…is she even married?

snapshot20090706042226
snapshot20090706042221

I’ll never ceased to be amazed at Nasu’s ability to create a believable and realistic setting.  I heard she went a bit crazy on some people who tried to interview her a while back…Maybe she got lost in her view of the world that has an amazing story behind it.  Does anyone know where I can finish with my boring life and get aboard the Nasuverse train?  I’ll trade this life for two weeks to be part of an epic story with meaning.  I don’t care if I have to be Enjou.

snapshot20090706041219

I currently don’t quite understand what might be happening to these random people.  Any other Nasuologist want to give me insight in what sort of threat in previous Nasuverse works showed similar symptoms?  Can’t think of anything off the top of my head.

snapshot20090706041443snapshot20090706040951

Nasu’s ability to create and destroy innocence at a brief look.  Loved this reaction.

snapshot20090706041449snapshot20090706041436

Not quite Chaos; Head quality, but it gets the job done.

snapshot20090706041516

I wonder how these two got to know each other.  Looking forward to Canaan’s development, since her interactions with cameranovice indicates she has some sort of compassion.  Though I think I’ll like my apathetic killing DIDere Ryougi much more.

snapshot20090706041605

The face of a trained combatant.  You’ve been through a lot, you know.  I wonder if she’s the type who can’t escape from the fighting or is like this because she knows only how to fight.

snapshot20090706041719snapshot20090706041729snapshot20090706041742snapshot20090706041803snapshot20090706041809snapshot20090706041815

Definitely want to know more about her ability.  Luckily for all of you, I have Mystic Eyes of Frame Perception.  At first it appears Ryougi Canaan has Red/Yellow mystic eyes, which would indicate enchantment or suggestion, but a closer look we can see they really appear to be rainbow color.  The only one to do that, if I recall correctly, is Warcueid, and we still don’t have a lot of specification into what hers really did.  If I had to guess, I’d say these are mystic eyes of distortion, or based on the shadows of life she saw, perhaps something similar to Roa’s(Tohno SHIKI’s) Mystic Eyes of Death Perception of life-seeing subtype.  It’ll be a bit before we can tell.  She seems to have multiple abilities with it as the colors appear fabulous prismatic.  Probably something new Nasu came up with, or a mix of some sort.

snapshot20090706042122

Based on the dialogue used for the few minutes of the episode, I’m assuming this character is somehow related to Canaan, so it’s possible this series will include multiple characters with Mystic Eyes.  Waiting anxiously for episode 2 and a Tsukihime anime.  Don’t forget, only a couple weeks until the conclusion of Kara no Kyokai as well.  Fuck yeah, Summer 2009!

snapshot20090706050547

Also, inb4nekoarc.

4 Responses to “Summer 2009 R1 – Canaan 01 [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. July 8, 2009 at 11:27 AM

    Canaan looks pretty sweet, but it DOES appear to be all about action (which I wouldn’t mind after a relatively laid-back spring–for me).

    I realize you’re all TypeMoon fanboys here, but is all of their stuff this slick looking? I shied away from FS/N because the plot looked a little lame, but if it’s as pretty as this one looks to be, I might have to grab it when I’ve got some time.

  2. July 8, 2009 at 3:54 PM

    Fate/Stay Night is a meh-level anime. The Visual Novel is a good beginner-level visual novel, if not the best. You would enjoy it, from what I know of you.

    No matter what anyone tells you, there was never, ever, ever, a Tsukihime anime. There is a Tsukihime visual novel. It’s the basis for the melty-blood characters, and the visual novel itself is longer than all of the Lord of The Rings books and the hobbit put together. It’s a decent VN, but it’s not as high quality as Fate/Stay Night in terms of character sprites and CG.

    It’s a good entry-drug for Typemoon. Either Melty Blood or playing F/SN. I highly recommend it.

    But, yeah, Canaan is a must-see this season in my book. What else are you watching this season, patches?

  3. July 8, 2009 at 4:30 PM

    Besides Spice and Wolf II and Haruhi?

    _Aoi Hana_ looks pretty from the screens I’ve seen and I wanna see if _Toradora!_ converted me to Romance. I’ve downloaded _Umineko_ since the one _Higurashi_ I’ve seen (the first one) was pretty sweet, I figure it’s worth checking out but I still haven’t gotten around to watching the episode. I still have _Pandora Hearts_ and _Saki_ on holdover (just picked up and then caught up with Saki last week it’s GONZO and well-written) with the two seasons of GANTZ that I purchased recently, that looks like plenty for the time being.

    Needless looks… alright? A little too straightforward for my taste and not QUITE pretty enough to pass muster given how visually sumptuous this season looks to be. If any bloggers/A-P folks really rave about it, I might jump on late, like I did with CSR, but I’ve been doing things outside, in the real world, so six or seven series will probably be my limit.

  4. 4 darkslime
    July 8, 2009 at 8:46 PM

    Those public official-looking guys were saying stuff about synasthesia – for those of you who haven’t heard of it, it’s a well-documented phenomenon where two of a person’s senses are coupled, leading to examples like what that guy was saying. There are people out there whose brains actually DO attach sound to images, words to music, and personalities to letters(though that might be an autistic thing).

    Just so you guys don’t think they were pulling it out of their asses. I always thought synasthesia would be a cool story element for something like this. I just wonder how it’s going to affect the plot…

    Those guys who were flipping out when their masks were taken off seemed like… uh, you know, albinos, or people whose eyes are so sensitive to light it’s considered a disease. This is probably obviously related.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,575 Oranges Picked

