07
Jul
09

Summer 2009 R1 – Haruhi S2 START; Endless Eight [Orange Farm Archive]

1246694112857

We’ve entered an endless recursion of time.

snapshot20090523220402

Become a Haruhist! Worship this! And also get a free bottle of Orange Cleaner with membership for only 19.99!

I was a little busy when dat god appeared mid-way in Spring for a preview. I’ll have you know I’m KyoAni’s bitch, and I like it that way. I may not be on the pathetic-tier that some people worship Haruhi and KyoAni, but it’s a very safe assumption I will watch just about whatever they make. I’ve been anticipating Haruhi for three years, and am pleased to finally see it’s encore to the stage.

1246694112857

Anticipating something for three years with hype is a questionable thing, however. A lot of people have mixed feelings about the re-arrival of Haruhi, and I’m no exception. I managed to wait for three years without spoiling myself because I wanted to see it animated. The first episode started out a little bit plot heavy, and the second episode of new content didn’t have any plot. The latest episodes seem to balance that perfect mix of a greater story behind seemingly normal days that Haruhi is best at, and that’s why it was always enjoyable to watch.

12466941128571

Anticipating something for three years with hype is a questionable thing, however. A lot of people have mixed feelings about the re-arrival of Haruhi, and I’m no exception. I managed to wait for three years without spoiling myself because I wanted to see it animated. The first episode started out a little bit plot heavy, and the second episode of new content didn’t have any plot. The latest episodes seem to balance that perfect mix of a greater story behind seemingly normal days that Haruhi is best at, and that’s why it was always enjoyable to watch.

12466941128572

Anticipating something for three years with hype is a questionable thing, however. A lot of people have mixed feelings about the re-arrival of Haruhi, and I’m no exception. I managed to wait for three years without spoiling myself because I wanted to see it animated. The first episode started out a little bit plot heavy, and the second episode of new content didn’t have any plot. The latest episodes seem to balance that perfect mix of a greater story behind seemingly normal days that Haruhi is best at, and that’s why it was always enjoyable to watch.

1246694112857

But the problem is, the latest episode, while amazingly animated – they use different camera angles and mostly different clothes for all the characters – was a bit trying on the viewer. I suppose if it was Kyo-Ani’s intention to show the true tribulation of Endless Eight, they’re doing a good job. Especially if it keeps going on for another few weeks. I imagine it’s also a rather big pain on the animators themselves. They’ll probably do something ARG-esque and end the Endless Eight arc on the real last week of July. I really like ARG(Alternate-Reality-Games) so this is acceptable, though if that is what they’re up to, I wish it wouldn’t be so easy to guess.

snapshot20090706034202

:|

I wasn’t ever really into Yuki. To stoic. I’m attracted to energy. Seems like she’s the main girl of this arc, which isn’t favorable to me. Even though I wasn’t a fan of Yuki, in the first season, her scenes were always rather enjoyable – especially her battle with Asakura. This, not so much. I think the balance is there, but the direction of this arc – much like the island detective case last season – may simply be something I’m not interested in. All the key points seem to be there and it is everything I remembered (I try not to exaggerate memory), but it feels like the feeling of something new every week isn’t there, which considering the episode were aired three years ago out of order, was always the best part of Haruhi. A lot of people complain about that director decision, but it made the series unpredictable. Like this, I wonder what my thoughts of the series will be at the end of Summer.

snapshot20090624233110
snapshot20090706034649
snapshot20090624233155

KyoAni showing off their god-tier animation. God I’m their bitch.

snapshot20090706034754

Also, between the last episode of K-ON! and this, I officially have a Yukata fetish. Thanks, KyoAni. Like I really needed another one of those.

snapshot20090706034607

I can’t stop /a/non…

snapshot20090706034829

EXCELLENT!

In the great scheme of things I see the repetition to be a good thing as far as the series. It’s one of those things that you only experience while you’re watching a series during it’s air time, and it brings the experience of watching every week to life. Also, KyoAni is probably getting a lot of experience on different ways to animate things. If you notice, all the above pictures have different styles and lighting. The fact they’re wearing different Yukata’s probably means that Haruhi is subconsciously picking different ones everytime. Though I’m not sure if there is 15,000+ Yukata designs that shop could stock, it constantly reminds you of the back story, my favorite part of Haruhi.

snapshot20090706034712

“Ahh…I’m such a…” – Tomoya, Clannad

Love how Kyon ditched his homework on the first iteration to play video games with his loli-imouto. No one could blame him.

snapshot20090523220402

Become a Haruhist! Worship this! And also get a free bottle of Orange Cleaner with membership for only 19.99!

I was a little busy when dat god appeared mid-way in Spring for a preview. I’ll have you know I’m KyoAni’s bitch, and I like it that way. I may not be on the pathetic-tier that some people worship Haruhi and KyoAni, but it’s a very safe assumption I will watch just about whatever they make. I’ve been anticipating Haruhi for three years, and am pleased to finally see it’s encore to the stage.

12466941128573

Anticipating something for three years with hype is a questionable thing, however. A lot of people have mixed feelings about the re-arrival of Haruhi, and I’m no exception. I managed to wait for three years without spoiling myself because I wanted to see it animated. The first episode started out a little bit plot heavy, and the second episode of new content didn’t have any plot. The latest episodes seem to balance that perfect mix of a greater story behind seemingly normal days that Haruhi is best at, and that’s why it was always enjoyable to watch.

0 Responses to “Summer 2009 R1 – Haruhi S2 START; Endless Eight [Orange Farm Archive]”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,463 Oranges Picked

