04
May
09

Spice and Wolf Season II OVA [Orange Farm Archive]

snapshot20090504121139

“…eh?  You turned into a moeblob obsessed idiot while I was gone?”

Spice and Wolf II is almost here, starring my favorite Tsundere-Wolf-God Thing.

This was the perfect end to a great relaxing weekend.  Spice and Wolf was one of my favorite series in-between seasons of Code Geass, and Horo deserves the love.  The style of the show is very unique, and I wound up watching the first season during my economics class by coincidence.  Which is a good thing, because I hated that class with a passion, and this show saved me from a very boring semester.

snapshot20090504120053

“Fine…are you pregnant?”

The OVA was fun but didn’t have a whole lot of content – like the previous episode 7 release that was left out in the original season.  Also similar to the lost episode 7, this OVA wasn’t released on television (probably due to nudity).  None the less, it was a nice preview to season II.  The atmosphere of the show and the interaction between Lawrence (voiced by Jun Fukuyama, his emperor Lelouch) and Horo is always entertaining.  My question is when does this OVA take place?  It almost seems like it could be the last episode of the new season (which I hope, because that means no stupid Nola throughout the series) or during the time skip to the first season.

fight

What are you looking at?

Seeing Horo fight with other canines is also entertaining.  Gives her something to do while Nola is on screen.  Did I mention I have a beret fetish?

Because I do.

snapshot20090504120228

Lawrence pulls a fast one.

The most entertaining thing about Spice and Wolf is the element of surprise, instinct, and intelligence of the characters.  They’re both wise people who are hard to fool – which is a base premise for most of the scenes.  Sometimes the slow character development can be annoying, but I expect more out of season two.  During Horo’s dream sequence, we got a glimpse into what she’s really thinking, versus the assumed tsundere attitude she had in season one.  It’s a short series, so this pace is alright – especially with all the non-typical anime scenes going on in the background.  Arguing with merchants, debating prices, discussing currency – all while managing a decent dose of action and adventure.  I think Spice and Wolf has something anyone can get into, so if you never watched it, I suggest you do so.  Now.

snapshot20090504115119

Retribution in the form of TsunTsun.

While the larger plot is engaging, the most enjoyable part about Spice and Wolf is the light attitude.  It takes it’s own plot and adds a bit of slice of life so you get a good mix of their more endangering adventures along with their day to day life without it being too boring.  The creators of Spice and Wolf are very good at balancing it’s plot and screen time for their characters.  The do or die focus of the life of a merchant combined with the physical danger of traveling alongside a wolf god.  I wish there were more authors capable of drawing out more fantasy like this nowadays.

snapshot20090504121541

A laughing Horo is fine too.

The new season airs this summer.  Can’t wait to see that fang biting it’s way through Lawrence’s perception of life and society.  This one is definitely on my summer line-up.

Edit: Oh, and what’s this about a Spice and Wolf Visual Novel?

6 Responses to “Spice and Wolf Season II OVA [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. May 4, 2009 at 12:44 PM

    I LOVE Spice and Wolf. No. Really.

    But I think calling Horo tsundere sells the series and her character a little short. What struck me most about Spice and Wolf was how adult it all seemed. The love story here isn’t one of longing, silly mistakes and denial. Instead these two characters are developing an affection and dependence in the manner of two mature, complete human beings. It’s a joy to watch.

    Horo, while certainly prideful, doesn’t display the irrational sadism and self-denial that usually marks characters as tsundere (at least to my eyes as a Rie Kugimiya fanboi). Horo is coy. And I love her for it.

  2. 2 komidol
    May 4, 2009 at 12:51 PM

    “The most entertaining thing about Spice and Wolf is the element of surprise, instinct, and intelligence of the characters. They’re both wise people who are hard to fool – which is a base premise for most of the scenes.”

    Tsundere’s true definition is someone who has a rough outer appearance yet truly is caring and gentle feeling towards their mate. I guess Rie Kugimiya characters would be that generic Tsundere that you describe. But yes, the adult relationship is fun to watch. Though, mature might not be the best word for Horo. You can especially tell in the OVA that she wants the best of both worlds, and hasn’t made a decision yet, which is why she’s not open to Lawrence throughout the first season. She’s strong, wise, understands people, but the characteristic of not knowing one’s own self is the biggest trademark of a childish character.

    Originally I had wrote something similar to what you said, but I backspaced it for that very reason ;)

    I look forward to seeing her developments in the second season.

  3. May 4, 2009 at 8:40 PM

    OK, now that I’ve SEEN the OVA, I understand where you all were coming from. The Horo on display there was decidedly less mature than I remembered.

    In the OVA, she showed all of the trademark signs of Tsundere. Which disappointed me a little. I can understand her ambivalence, but I had a hard time buying that she doesn’t understand her feelings.

    Either way, the OVA DID show me how much I missed this series. I also can’t wait for its summer return.

  4. 4 komidol
    May 4, 2009 at 8:53 PM

    Lol Patches…I know you have that UNDIEING ORANGE-KUN READER LOYALTY but watch what I post about before replying…haha….

  5. May 6, 2009 at 6:17 AM

    I can’t wait for season 2 ova either :D


Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 289,593 Oranges Picked

