28
Feb
09

ToraDora 21 [Orange Farm Archive]

snapshot200902271101561

“I hate you! I fucking hate you!”

There is more drama in this series than a guild in a free MMORPG.

The development in this episode is amazing.  Episodes like this really show where ToraDora! shines – a combination of drama and comedy.  ToraDora! does it’s drama much differently than most shows, however.  ToraDora! does it’s drama best when there is character interaction.  For a story like Clannad, most of the story is shown by how the character is viewing and reacting to a situation.  It’s more traditional to Japanese Culture to not speak about the truth, and keep relations smooth.  I think ToraDora! is a good insight into the next era of Japan, where people are more blunt and upfront.

snapshot20090227111123

She could use a better voice actor for crying.

You can tell the differences in how the kids are raised, and which families are more bracing towards newer society and those that aren’t.  It’s apparent that Ami and Taiga appreciate the more direct attitude, or at the very least hint as to what you want done – where Minorin and Ryuuji both maintain a persona or don’t talk much about what they believe until they are put into a position where they’re forced to.  While I agree with Ami’s approach, though slightly a result of jealousy, to Minorin’s reaction, a lot of people find it incredibly offensive, which I’ve found out the hard way more and more as I’ve gotten older.

snapshot20090227111809
Stop hiding behind your bangs.  A major symbol (especially for Ryuuji) in the light novels.

Backing Minorin into a corner was not a good idea.  Ami’s greatest strength is her capability to identify a problem, and strike right for the jugular of the issue.  Unfortunately, Minorin is incapable of responding in any sort of positive way to that treatment.  I know this because I too have the same curse Ami does.  I love her character because I can always understand where she’s coming from, and the scorn she receives from the other character reminds me all too well of my normal day.  What people don’t understand is that we’re trying to make it so problems are addressed, as problems only build up if you leave them alone.  Minorin’s attitude and glares no doubt got to Ami.  I’m not saying either side is right or wrong, as any adult would understand those two terms don’t truly exist in a social environment, but rather – I think Minorin is being completely childish and her methods will do nothing but make things worse.

snapshot20090227112541

Jiiiiiii~~~w/side order of glare and rage.

Even though Minorin and Ami fought with each other, things are progressing thanks to Ami.  This will probably be the biggest role we see her in the whole series, which is a shame for me, because I can identify wit her more than any other character.  Being young myself, I don’t know what happens to people like us.  Tact is something I have come to learn, but I always go full force behind something – and my tact isn’t really about handling a situation any less bluntly, but more to follow the common cliche “pick your battles.”  It’s gotten me a lot further than I would have without it, but logical honest people like us simply can’t stand people like Minorin.

snapshot20090227114613
Those are Nanaya eyes.

At first I really liked Minorin.  She’s fun and outgoing, and I understand the need/requirement for a persona to turn people on or off when you’re in a certain mood.  But the point of having a persona is basically to let the general people around you have a view of you so they don’t have a need to pry, or feel they understand what type of person you are or looking to attract.  But you also need to keep true your priorities and beliefs, and strike out when necessary.  This is where Minorin becomes atypical – in that she keeps everything else locked up.  Her persona is no longer a tool for her to use, but a lock on her emotions – to which she gives no one the key.  When you want to get to know her you are merely shown the lock, her persona, and nothing else.  Problem is, Taiga had the key, but Minorin changed the lock.

snapshot20090227120656

Blue Hair! Red Hair! Blue Hair! Red Hair! *SHOVE*

Of course, the clash between the dedication each character has to their ways to where most of the drama (and comedy) of the series is drawn from.  Everyone has their niche, Ryuuji can be a busy-body, Taiga is a slob, Minorin can be a jock, and Ami can be my queen a bitch.  It is the epitome of high school life where you learn to solidify and fight for the opinions you’ve come to like and replace the ones you dislike with ones you learn of.  The problem is some people have trouble expressing or replacing these spots in their personality.

snapshot200902271211271

WOAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SUPRISE CONFESSION WOAHHHHHHHHHHH

Overall, with the series coming to an end soon we’re up for a final arc leading to Ryuuji’s decision.  All the girls fight over him, so once he picks someone (and they will all make themselves available in the next two episodes), all the fighting ends.

snapshot20090227130600

I want a harem of girls fighting over me…

There’s a few ways the series can end…

1) Ryuuji picks one of the three girls, probably Taiga.
2) Something happens where Ryuuji is harmed/has to move/etc…
3) Something happens to Taiga where she is harmed/has to move/etc…Ryuuji will lock himself off from Ami and Minorin will feel to guilty to pursue a relationship.
4) Ryuuji/Taiga share an intimate moment, or some confession clears up the main conflicts(Taiga and Minorin become friends again and Ami backs off), and the season simply resolves to day-day life, where Taiga continues to beat him up, Minorin becomes chaseable again, and Ami sits and observes the whole thing without interfering much – this would all happen because of either the aforementioned or Ryuuji decides for whatever reason it’s not a good idea for him to pursue any of them romantically.  The camera pans up into the sky, some birds fly by, and his day-day life with taiga yelling at him, minorin being crazy, and Ami being apathetic and annoyed continues until Season 2.

I think I’ve watched one too many highschool harems.

Special Bonus Item!

The Goggles!  They do nothing!

The Goggles! They do nothing!

7 Responses to “ToraDora 21 [Orange Farm Archive]”


  1. 1 Person
    February 28, 2009 at 5:50 PM

    Ha! There’s no season 2!

  2. 2 komidol
    March 1, 2009 at 7:23 PM

    No one knows that yet. The novels are still being written, it’s perfectly feasible there would be. Unless the statement I just wrote is wrong. Which has about a 20% chance. I know they’re still being translated…they’re not done yet to my knowledge.

  3. March 1, 2009 at 11:16 PM

    Probably the most in-depth analysis of the series that I’ve seen yet! I applaud you.

    As I mentioned in another comment on another blog, I’m still disappointed in Ami for not forcing the issue. You gotta own your feelings, but maybe that’s my perspective as someone who has been long out of high school.

    The problem with trying to divine Ryuuji’s motivations in this series is that Ryuuji’s affections have been pretty well de-sexualized, so we have to analyze motivationally. On this footing, Ryuuji is probably equally likely to choose either Minori or Taiga, as he’s demonstrated subconscious and powerful emotional responses to both (anyone that you’re rushing to spend time with and save is someone you care DEEPLY about).

    I think Ryuuji continues to be drawn to Minori because he believes she can bring light to his life. Her crazy enthusiasm must be electrifying to Ryuuji who only gets really juiced by domestic accomplishment. Ami on the extreme opposite side of the spectrum is very much like Ryuuji. She gets her little joys where she can, but mostly lives life in the manner that’s expected of her (both Ami and Ryuuji are heavily at the mercy of their outward appearance: Ami the model and Ryuuji the delinquent). Taiga really offers an X-factor. She both challenges Ryuuji AND allows him to shine in the way that he is most comfortable.

    Hmm… The more I think about it, the better Taiga looks as a match for Ryuuji. I think my problem is that Taiga’s breakdown in episode 19 didn’t really affect me in the way I was expecting it to. It seemed a little abrupt (maybe because I was pretty sure that Minori wasn’t going to accept Ryuuji’s confession). I’m not quite sure how I want or expect the series to end. Ryuuji is fundamentally a coward, so I’d like a real confrontation. I expect him to run from the confession with all his might, and I’m hoping that the writers will force him to man-up and resolve the situation himself.

    Meh. You’re probably tired of reading this (if you’re reading it at all). I’m interested to see where this is going, but I will be pretty upset if we get ending option 2, 3, or 4. Man up, Ryuuji, man up.

  4. March 2, 2009 at 8:04 PM

    Quite the opposite, I love comments, especially long ones. It’s part of the reason I write, so never hesitate.

    As for your analysis, you’d be right in saying it’s pretty much in Ryuuji’s ballpark now. Overall, I’d say that Minorin or Ami making a confession (or both) would be the best way to setup a final-kiss-lastepisode setup, which is what I believe will happen.

    But I’ve been wrong before.

  5. 5 Agent556
    March 4, 2009 at 12:37 AM

    Can’t wait for the novels to be translated…. Volume 9 seems to have something very interesting happening in it…..

  6. June 12, 2009 at 5:37 AM

    how that can be????

    omg!

    i never thought about that!!!!!!

    that ami was so arrgghhh!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

Links: Information

Touhou Wiki (English)
Seisaku no Shiori

Links: Doujin Circles


Links: Doujin Music Circles


Sonic Hybrid Orchestra WAVE UI-70

Links: Doujin Game Circles


Team Shanghai Alice Tasogare Frontier Fly System Pandadanpa

Links: Other Stuff


JAM Project TYPE-MOON foobar2000

Link to Us

Place a Text widget on your sidebar and include the banner and link using HTML code. This site is link-free(you can link here without asking).

Blog Stats

  • 290,266 Oranges Picked

